Pittsburgh Theological Seminary

Faculty Experts

Need an expert comment for an article or blog? Looking for someone to teach at your church? Please consider contacting our faculty experts for their thoughts on today's church issues. Have a particular topic that you don't see covered here? Contact the Director of Communications Melissa Logan at mlogan@pts.edu or 412-924-1373 to be connected with a faculty resource.

John P. Burgess

James Henry Snowden Professor of Systematic Theology
jburgess@pts.edu
412-924-1430

  • Ecclesiology
  • Worship and Sacraments
  • Theology of Karl Barth
  • Orthodox Church in Post-Communist Russia
  • Protestant Church in Post-Communist Eastern Germany

Ronald Cole-Turner

H. Parker Sharp Professor of Theology and Ethics H. Parker Sharp Professor of Theology and Ethics
coleturn@pts.edu
412-924-1426

  • Relation of theology and ethics to science and technology, such as germline modification

Jerome F. D. Creach

Robert C. Holland Professor of Old Testament 
jcreach@pts.edu
412-924-1428

  • Old Testament Psalms and Prophets
  • Violence in the Bible

David Esterline

President and Professor of Cross-Cultural Theological Education
desterline@pts.edu
412-924-1366

  • Global and Ecumenical Theological Education
  • Educational Diversity

Leanna K. Fuller

Assistant Professor of Pastoral Care
lfuller@pts.edu
412-924-1459

  • Pastoral care and counseling
  • Pastoral theology
  • Congregational conflict

Robert A. J. Gagnon

Associate Professor of New Testament
gagnon@pts.edu
412-924-1416

  • Pauline theology
  • Sexual issues in the Bible

Angela Dienhart Hancock

AssociateProfessor of Homiletics and Worship
ahancock@pts.edu
412-924-1451

  • Systematic Theology
  • Homiletics
  • Liturgical Theology
  • Rhetoric
  • Performance Theory
  • History
  • Philosophical Hermeneutics

Edith M. Humphrey

William F. Orr Professor of New Testament
ehumphrey@pts.edu
412-924-1424

  • New Testament
  • Hellenistic Jewish Literature
  • Biblical Theology
  • Music

Byron H. Jackson

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty and Louise and Perry Dick Associate Professor of Church Education
bjackson@pts.edu
412-924-1374

  • Congregational dynamics
  • Faith perspectives
  • Teaching methods
  • Program administration
  • Education theory

Susan Kendall

Director of the Doctor of Ministry Program
skendall@pts.edu
412-924-1421

  • Practical Theology
  • Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Feminist Theology
  • Women’s Studies
  • Women’s Ministries and Leadership
  • Cultural Studies
  • Editor/writer

L. Roger Owens

Associate Professor of Leadership and Ministry
lowens@pts.edu
412-924-1458

  • Preaching
  • Practical Theology and Ministry
  • Christian Spirituality

Andrew Purves

Jean and Nancy Davis Professor of Historical Theology
apurves@pts.edu
412-924-1429

  • Doctrinal theology from a Reformed perspective

R. Drew Smith

Professor of Urban Ministry
rsmith@pts.edu
412-924-1457

  • Religion and public life
  • Sociology of urban religion
  • Christianity, race, and class
  • Churches and demographic change
  • Religion and social movements
  • Christianity and U.S. foreign policy

 

Ron E. Tappy

G. Albert Shoemaker Professor of Bible and Archaeology; Director, James L. Kelso Bible Lands Museum, Pittsburgh Theological Seminary; Project Director and Principal Investigator, The Zeitah Excavations
rtappy@pts.edu
412-924-1427

  • Syro-Palestinian archaeology
  • Ancient Near Eastern history
  • Hebrew Bible
  • History and archaeology of the city of Samaria

Lisa L. Thompson

Assistant Professor of Homiletics
lthompson@pts.edu
412-924-1460

  • Homiletic Theory, Methodology and Pedagogy
  • Rhetoric
  • Liturgics
  • Theology and Practice of Religion

Steven Tuell

James A. Kelso Professor of Hebrew and Old Testament
stuell@pts.edu
412-924-1407

  • Biblical literature of the Early Persian Period (especially Chronicles)
  • OT prophetic books (especially Ezekiel; Nahum through Malachi)

Heather Hartung Vacek

Assistant Professor of Church History
hvacek@pts.edu
412-924-1453

  • American religious history
  • Church history
  • History of mental illness in America
  • Practical theology
  • Theologies of disability and suffering

Edwin Chr. van Driel

Bicentennial Associate Professor of Theology
evandriel@pts.edu
412-924-1425

  • Christology
  • Eschatology
  • Ecclesiology